Lesson 10: The Dharmic Life

Please sign up for the course before starting the lesson.

Living a dharmic life of higher purpose requires: clear intention, commitment, purification of mind & body, and receptivity to divine grace.


GunasThe Three Qualities of Nature

Ultimate Reality is both transcendent and immanent. We are expressions of both.

Gunas pervade everything and influence how we think and feel.

  • Sattva: luminosity, peace
  • Rajas: activity, restlessness
  • Tamas: inertia, dullness, heaviness


Influence of the Gunas on the Mental Field

Five States of Citta (mental field) / Predominance of Guna

  • Mudha: heavy, dull, preoccupied (tamasic) – not inclined to meditate
  • Kshipta: restless or disturbed (rajasic)
  • Vikshpta: distracted (rajas with sattva) – begin to meditate
  • Ekagrata: one-pointed (sattvic)
  • Niruddha: controlled, clear (beyond influence of gunas)


 Lighten Up Your Life

Once we understand and experience the gunas, how they influence the mind and body (affecting our discernment, sense of well-being, and sadhana), we are ready to start cultivating a sattvic lifestyle, foundation for dharmic living by:

  • Identifying the gunas
  • Modifying / mitigating rajas & tamas; and increasing sattva
  • Ultimately, transcending influence of the gunas


Seven Components of a Sattvic Lifestyle

  • Purposeful living
  • Regular superconscious meditation practice
  • Conscious breathing
  • Moderate exercise
  • Wholesome, whole foods (natural diet
  • Positive thinking and devotional attitude
  • Rest


Three Things to Do Right Away

  • Meditate every day
  • Improve your diet
  • Cultivate contentment


For additional information, refer to:
Living the Eternal Way, p 71-75


Course Discussion Contact Us

Course Status

Live the Eternal Way

Back to: Live the Eternal Way > Module 5 : Four Aims for a Fulfilled Life
Leave a Reply